The Isabela City Water District (ISAWAD) bagged the prestigious Huwarang Lingkod Tubig Award for Best Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Program – Mindanao during the 2019 World Water Day (WWD) Philippine Awards.

General Manager Aleli C. Almodovar received the Huwarang Lingkod-Tubig trophy together with her daughter during the ceremony held last March 22, 2019 at Novotel, Cubao, Quezon City. The trophy was awarded by Maynilad Finance Officer Ricardo De Los Reyes, Cabinet Secretary Karlo Nograles, LWUA Administrator Jeci Lapus and NWRB Executive Director Sevillo David, Jr. (L-R).

The ceremony served as the finale activity culminating the week-long Philippine WWD celebration highlighting the significance of “Hawak Kamay, Tubig Kaagapay” being the localized theme of the global WWD theme “Leaving No One Behind” in water supply. The ISAWAD, being the nominee of the Western Mindanao Water Districts Association, bested two other nominees from Mindanao in the thorough screening by the awards committee to be this year’s awardee for the Huwarang Lingkod Tubig Award sponsored by the Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA).

The Huwarang Lingkod Tubig Award is being awarded to water utilities with the passion for uplifting the lives of Filipinos through clean water and sustainable environment and exemplifying conviction and hard work of true public servants. LWUA lauded the efforts of ISAWAD to develop water facilities, not only in the mainland but also on nearby island communities, where population – along with the need for water – is steadily growing. Aside from this, the accomplishments of the water district in sanitation as well as in its other corporate social responsibility projects were key factors in its selection as awardee.

The WWD Philippine Awards organized by various agencies is held annually as a platform for honoring champions for water and the environment, particularly individuals, institutions and programs that made strides in achieving water and water-environment sustainability in the Philippines. Governed by the Awards’ universal criteria, as well as the special criteria set by sponsors of each award, the program has pronounced 76 champions since 2015. Honorees included indigenous people leaders, community workers, media personalities, local government units, and academe-based organizations.